Walker's Weekly

June 22, 2018

Walker's in Australia! Jada Adams '20, Hannah Theriault '20 and Brianna Vega '20 are currently in Australia with faculty chaperone Emma Mitchell as part of a long-standing Walker's exchange program with St. Catherine's School, a boarding and day school for girls in in Melbourne. L-R: Jada and her host Claudia James; Georgie Green, host of Hannah; Tess Hogan, host of Brianna. Students, please share your summer travel, job and internship photos with us at newsletters@ethelwalker.org.

Back to School To-Do Items
Families, please be sure to complete summer to-do list items as soon as possible, including medical forms, placement tests and more. Checklists can be found on our Back to School Information webpage. Note: Items in PowerSchool can only accessed by student accounts.

Walker's Grad Admitted to U.S. Naval Academy Prep School
Louisa Gillett '18 was one of 250 students out of around 16,500 applicants to be been accepted to attend the United States Naval Academy Prep School in Newport, Rhode Island. Louisa received a Congressional Nomination from Congressman John Larson of Connecticut's 1st District, and received her acceptance to the Naval Academy from LCDR (Ret.) Scott Herbener during Walker's Prize Night held on June 9. Hooray Sunray!

Read More

Walker's Attends NCGS Forum on Girls' Education
Members of Walker's faculty and staff attended the National Coalition of Girls' Schools (NCGS) annual conference, Global Forum on Girls' Education II, held June 18-20 in Washington, D.C. Girls' education advocates from around the world exchanged best practices and innovative approaches for academic excellence and the healthy development of girls (ncgs.org). In attendance were Dean of Academic Technology and Innovation and NCGS Board Member Sarah Edson, Director of Admission and Financial Aid Jenny Reynolds P'13, '15, and Director of External Affairs Michelle Helmin P'19.

Walker's Alumna Advocates for Girls’ Literacy in Afghanistan
In 2016, Walker's alumna Sajia Darwish '14 opened the Baale Parwaz Library (BPL) at Mohammed Asif Mayel High School in her hometown of Kabul, Afghanistan, in the hopes of providing a safe refuge for girls to read and learn. Read more about the recent Mount Holyoke College grad and how she found her voice, advocated for girls' literacy, and made her dreams happen: 

Read More

Summer Conditioning Clinic
Walker's Athletic Director John Monagan and Assistant Athletic Director Mimi Duran are running a preseason conditioning clinic for summer 2018, focusing on agility, endurance, and core skills. The camp runs August 28-30 from 6:00 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. All ability levels are welcome; camp is open to girls in grades seven through 12. To learn more about other camp offerings at Walker's this summer, visit www.ethelwalker.org/summer.

Walker's in the News

Contact Us
If you have any questions or concerns, we are here to assist you:

Dean of Students Office
Kathleen McNary Pillsbury, Dean of Students and Director of Residential Life
(Effective July 1), kpillsbury@ethelwalker.org
Nishette Isaac, Assistant Dean of Students, +1-860-408-4324, nisaac@ethelwalker.org
Mallory Pasquariello, Administrative Assistant, +1-860-408-4237, mpasquariello@ethelwalker.org

Academic Administration
Jill Harrington, Dean of Academics (Until June 29), +1-860-408-4235, jharrington@ethelwalker.org
Julia Sheldon, Dean of Studies (Effective July 1), +1-860-408-4335, jsheldon@ethelwalker.org

Technology
Robert Dawson, IT Helpdesk Support, HelpDesk@ethelwalker.org

Health/Learning Services
Joyce McIntyre, School Nurse, +1-860-408-4289, jmcintyre@ethelwalker.org
Joan Skelley, School Counselor, +1-860-408-4284, jskelley@ethelwalker.org
Mary Beth Conley, Academic Support Coordinator, +1-860-408-4283, mconley@ethelwalker.org

Business Office
Greg Jandreau, CFO, +1-860-408-4241, gjandreau@ethelwalker.org
Deb Palazzolo, Student Billing, +1-860-408-4242, dpalazzolo@ethelwalker.org

Athletics
John Monagan, Athletic Director, +1-860-408-4290, jmonagan@ethelwalker.org
Mimi Duran, Assistant Athletic Director, +1-860-408-4294, mduran@ethelwalker.org

Equestrian
Linda Langmeier, Director of Riding and Head Trainer, +1-860-377-1386, llangmeier@ethelwalker.org
Jo Seaver, Senior Trainer, +1-860-573-5496, jseaver@ethelwalker.org
Randi Booth, Assistant Director of Riding/Riding Instructor, +1-860-408-4360, rbooth@ethelwalker.org

Contact Us


Phone: (860) 408-4467
Fax: (860) 408-4329
www.ethelwalker.org

Quick Links


The Ethel Walker School
230 Bushy Hill Road
Simsbury, CT 06070

(860) 408-4467
www.ethelwalker.org