Walker's Weekly

June 29, 2018

This summer we have welcomed 87 Horizons at The Ethel Walker School students back to our campus for a six-week session! We'd love to invite you all to come visit during our Horizons Open House on July 19 from 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.

Hear Dean of Academic Technology and Innovation Sarah Edson Talk About Learning Styles at Walker's
How do we prepare students for an incredibly uncertain future? At Walker's, we know that if we equip girls with a solid foundation of knowledge, the right set of skills, a strong sense of confidence, a comfort with adapting and a fearlessness about tackling new challenges, they'll be ready for their future, no matter what it entails. Hear more from our Dean of Academic Technology and Innovation Sarah Edson in the final video of our three-part series:

Watch Video

2018-2019 Bus Transportation for Day Students
Walker's offers a daily bus transportation service for day students. The 2018-2019 fee for the service is $800 per child per semester (billed at the beginning of each semester, once in September and once in January) or approximately $10 per day. Additional details on the program can be found on our bus transportation page. Information about adjusted daily schedules will be posted as notices in Walker's Weekly and on the bus transportation page. Please direct any specific questions to Director of Admission & Financial Aid Jenny Reynolds at jreynolds@ethelwalker.org or 860-408-4207.

Read More

Back to School To-Do Items
Families, please be sure to complete summer to-do list items as soon as possible, including medical forms, placement tests and more. Checklists can be found on our Back to School Information webpage. Note: Items in PowerSchool can only accessed by student accounts.

View Checklists

Equestrian Update
See below for some recent events and show results. Stay tuned for more results and our upcoming show schedule, and follow us on Instagram @ews_equestrian.
  • Becky Morris '19 and horse Vince (pictured) took first place in the ASPCA Maclay Class at the Fairfield County Hunt Club June Benefit Horse Show.
  • Walker's riding program had a great first visit to the Loudoun Benefit Horse Show in Upperville, Virginia, reconnecting with alumnae Marti Nevins Pawasarat '80, Charlotte Gerstenfeld '94, and Haley Weiss '11. Ava Strohmeyer '21 had several successful showings with Walker's horse, Cartoon.

View Summer Show Schedule

Join Walker's in the Hamptons
Walker's families, if your summer travels bring you to the Hamptons, we hope you join us on Thursday, July 12 from 5:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m. at 420 Ox Pasture Road in Southampton, New York. The event is hosted by Trustee Kelly O'Connor Pasciucco '79 and Lee Gowen '82. Cocktails and hors d'oeuvres will be served. RSVP to Events Manager Madeline Cadwell at rsvp@ethelwalker.org or +1-860-408-4253.

Contact Us
If you have any questions or concerns, we are here to assist you:

Dean of Students Office
Kathleen McNary Pillsbury, Dean of Students and Director of Residential Life
(Effective July 1), kpillsbury@ethelwalker.org
Nishette Isaac, Assistant Dean of Students, +1-860-408-4324, nisaac@ethelwalker.org
Mallory Pasquariello, Administrative Assistant, +1-860-408-4237, mpasquariello@ethelwalker.org

Academic Administration
Julia Sheldon, Dean of Studies (Effective July 1), +1-860-408-4335, jsheldon@ethelwalker.org

Technology
Robert Dawson, IT Helpdesk Support, HelpDesk@ethelwalker.org

Health/Learning Services
Joyce McIntyre, School Nurse, +1-860-408-4289, jmcintyre@ethelwalker.org
Joan Skelley, School Counselor, +1-860-408-4284, jskelley@ethelwalker.org
Mary Beth Conley, Academic Support Coordinator, +1-860-408-4283, mconley@ethelwalker.org

Business Office
Greg Jandreau, CFO, +1-860-408-4241, gjandreau@ethelwalker.org
Deb Palazzolo, Student Billing, +1-860-408-4242, dpalazzolo@ethelwalker.org

Athletics
John Monagan, Athletic Director, +1-860-408-4290, jmonagan@ethelwalker.org
Mimi Duran, Assistant Athletic Director, +1-860-408-4294, mduran@ethelwalker.org

Equestrian
Linda Langmeier, Director of Riding and Head Trainer, +1-860-377-1386, llangmeier@ethelwalker.org
Jo Seaver, Senior Trainer, +1-860-573-5496, jseaver@ethelwalker.org
Randi Booth, Assistant Director of Riding/Riding Instructor, +1-860-408-4360, rbooth@ethelwalker.org

Contact Us


Phone: (860) 408-4467
Fax: (860) 408-4329
www.ethelwalker.org

Quick Links


The Ethel Walker School
230 Bushy Hill Road
Simsbury, CT 06070

(860) 408-4467
www.ethelwalker.org