Walker's Weekly

July 13, 2018

Summer Riding Experience campers and counselors cool off with ice cream provided by Walker's Admission Office this week.

Watch Our Commencement Highlight Video
Here's to cherished memories, sisterhood and the gift of girls' education. We are excited to share this beautiful highlight video from our 106th Commencement. Enjoy!

Watch Video

Summer Reading and Assignments
Note: The summer reading lists and assignments can be found in the checklists for new and returning students, as well as in the navigation for our Back to School webpage.

View Assignments

Equestrians Compete in Prestigious Lake Placid Horse Shows
Walker's equestrians spent two weeks competing in the Lake Placid Horse Show and I Love New York Horse Show, two of the country's most prestigious equestrian events held June 26-July 8 in Lake Placid, New York. Despite the heat wave, Walker's equestrians rode incredibly well. Read more for individual results:

Read More

Meet Kati Eggert, Aquatics Director and Director of Sports Information
Kati comes to us from Westover School where she was the swim coach and assistant athletic director. She started at Westover in 2011 and was instrumental in maintaining the School's social media websites, leading the swim team to the school's first CISAC athletic conference championship in 2017, coaching field hockey and softball and working in the dorm. Prior to her tenure at Westover, she was a three-sport varsity athlete at Drew University. Her sports included field hockey, softball and swimming. While at Drew she earned All Academic Conference recognition, served as captain to the swim team and medaled in multiple Landmark Conference Championships. She earned her B.A. in Art and Secondary Education from Drew University and got her Master of Science in Sports Management from Southern New Hampshire University. Committed to all-girls education, Kati is already living and working on campus. We are thrilled to have her joining our athletic and communications departments where she is bound to make a big impact.
Read Walker's Weekly throughout the summer to learn more about our new faculty and staff.

From the College Counseling Office
Class of 2019 and 2020: Summit, the test preparation company that provides our on-campus SAT class in the winter, is offering students the opportunity to take a free practice SAT or ACT this summer on numerous dates. This is a great chance to get in some practice before taking the real test later this fall or winter. View the attachment below to see the dates available in CT. Summit also has several dates available in White Plains, New York as well as others in the greater Boston area.

   SAT Practice Test Dates

2018-2019 Bus Transportation for Day Students
Walker's offers a daily bus transportation service for day students. The 2018-2019 fee for the service is $800 per child per semester (billed at the beginning of each semester, once in September and once in January) or approximately $10 per day. Additional details on the program can be found on our bus transportation page. Please direct any specific questions to Director of Admission & Financial Aid Jenny Reynolds at jreynolds@ethelwalker.org or 860-408-4207.

Horizons at The Ethel Walker School Open House
The community is invited to learn more about Horizons at The Ethel Walker School at the program’s Open House on Thursday, July 19 from 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. on Walker's campus. Current and potential community partners can tour the campus and enjoy refreshments and while meeting the incredible Horizons students and faculty!

Contact Us
If you have any questions or concerns, we are here to assist you:

Dean of Students Office
Kathleen McNary Pillsbury, Dean of Students and Director of Residential Life, kpillsbury@ethelwalker.org
Nishette Isaac, Assistant Dean of Students, +1-860-408-4324, nisaac@ethelwalker.org
Mallory Pasquariello, Administrative Assistant, +1-860-408-4237, mpasquariello@ethelwalker.org

Academic Administration
Julia Sheldon, Dean of Studies, +1-860-408-4335, jsheldon@ethelwalker.org

Technology
Robert Dawson, IT Helpdesk Support, HelpDesk@ethelwalker.org

Health/Learning Services
Joyce McIntyre, School Nurse, +1-860-408-4289, jmcintyre@ethelwalker.org
Joan Skelley, School Counselor, +1-860-408-4284, jskelley@ethelwalker.org
Mary Beth Conley, Academic Support Coordinator, +1-860-408-4283, mconley@ethelwalker.org

Business Office
Greg Jandreau, CFO, +1-860-408-4241, gjandreau@ethelwalker.org
Deb Palazzolo, Student Billing, +1-860-408-4242, dpalazzolo@ethelwalker.org

Athletics
John Monagan, Athletic Director, +1-860-408-4290, jmonagan@ethelwalker.org
Mimi Duran, Assistant Athletic Director, +1-860-408-4294, mduran@ethelwalker.org
Kati Eggert, Aquatics Director/Director of Sports Information, +1-860-408-4292, keggert@ethelwalker.org

Equestrian
Linda Langmeier, Director of Riding and Head Trainer, +1-860-377-1386, llangmeier@ethelwalker.org
Jo Seaver, Senior Trainer, +1-860-573-5496, jseaver@ethelwalker.org
Randi Booth, Assistant Director of Riding/Riding Instructor, +1-860-408-4360, rbooth@ethelwalker.org

Contact Us


Phone: (860) 408-4467
Fax: (860) 408-4329
www.ethelwalker.org

Quick Links


The Ethel Walker School
230 Bushy Hill Road
Simsbury, CT 06070

(860) 408-4467
www.ethelwalker.org