Walker's Weekly

July 20, 2018

Recent Walker's grad and Horizons at The Ethel Walker School teacher Maddie Ross '18 works on a water table activity with pre-K Horizons students. Maddie was recognized as an emerging young philanthropist by the Aurora Women and Girls Foundation last year.

Community Visitors Learn About Horizons at The Ethel Walker School
On Thursday, July 19, Walker's hosted an open house for the community to learn more about Horizons at The Ethel Walker School, the nation's first all-girls Horizons program that provides Hartford students in grades pre-K through 8th with hands-on learning to develop problem-solving skills and enhance academic self-esteem. Following opening remarks by Horizons Executive Director Isabel Ceballos, Head of School Meera Viswanathan and Reading Specialist and Academic Coordinator Colleen Olsen, community partners enjoyed learning more about the program and visited classes and activities. Horizons students will showcase their summer projects at the CT Horizons STEAM exhibition on Friday, July 27 from 10:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m. in the Centennial Center, open to the public from 10:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m. The event is sponsored by LEGO, who just announced continued support of the Horizons program by awarding $100,000 for 2019.

Meet English Teacher David Thacker
Dave comes to us from Florida State University where he was completing his Ph.D. in Creative Writing and teaching English. He has enjoyed teaching for the past 11 years at the University level but is thrilled to be coming to Walker's where he can spend more time focusing on teaching and getting to know his students. A published poet, Dave earned a B.S. in English, summa cum laude, from Weber State University and an M.F.A. in Creative Writing from The University of Idaho. Dave is passionate about community partnerships and will be working with Clarissa Basch on our community partnerships program. Beginning in August, Dave will be living on campus with his wife and two daughters. His daughter Molly will be joining our 7th grade. Read Walker's Weekly throughout the rest of the summer to learn more about our new faculty and staff.

Read One of David's Recently Published Works

Walker's Words
What's a "toaster"? We all know it as the kitchen appliance, but there are many words unique to our community that are important to know before coming to Walker's. Learn more by visiting the "Walker's Words" tab on our Back to School webpage.

Walker's in the News

Contact Us
If you have any questions or concerns, we are here to assist you:

Dean of Students Office
Kathleen McNary Pillsbury, Dean of Students and Director of Residential Life, kpillsbury@ethelwalker.org
Nishette Isaac, Assistant Dean of Students, +1-860-408-4324, nisaac@ethelwalker.org
Mallory Pasquariello, Administrative Assistant, +1-860-408-4237, mpasquariello@ethelwalker.org

Academic Administration
Julia Sheldon, Dean of Studies, +1-860-408-4335, jsheldon@ethelwalker.org

Technology
Robert Dawson, IT Helpdesk Support, HelpDesk@ethelwalker.org

Health/Learning Services
Joyce McIntyre, School Nurse, +1-860-408-4289, jmcintyre@ethelwalker.org
Joan Skelley, School Counselor, +1-860-408-4284, jskelley@ethelwalker.org
Mary Beth Conley, Academic Support Coordinator, +1-860-408-4283, mconley@ethelwalker.org

Business Office
Greg Jandreau, CFO, +1-860-408-4241, gjandreau@ethelwalker.org
Deb Palazzolo, Student Billing, +1-860-408-4242, dpalazzolo@ethelwalker.org

Athletics
John Monagan, Athletic Director, +1-860-408-4290, jmonagan@ethelwalker.org
Mimi Duran, Assistant Athletic Director, +1-860-408-4294, mduran@ethelwalker.org
Kati Eggert, Aquatics Director/Director of Sports Information, +1-860-408-4292, keggert@ethelwalker.org

Equestrian
Linda Langmeier, Director of Riding and Head Trainer, +1-860-377-1386, llangmeier@ethelwalker.org
Jo Seaver, Senior Trainer, +1-860-573-5496, jseaver@ethelwalker.org
Randi Booth, Assistant Director of Riding/Riding Instructor, +1-860-408-4360, rbooth@ethelwalker.org

Contact Us


Phone: (860) 408-4467
Fax: (860) 408-4329
www.ethelwalker.org

Quick Links


The Ethel Walker School
230 Bushy Hill Road
Simsbury, CT 06070

(860) 408-4467
www.ethelwalker.org