Walker's Weekly

August 3, 2018

Walker's alumnae Ella Ross '15 and Lila Reynolds '15 shared a beautiful summer afternoon at Bates College. Ella will be a senior at Bates, and Lila will be a senior at Northwestern University.

Important Summer To-Do Items
Please be sure to refer to our Back to School Information webpage for the summer checklist items most relevant to your family. Important to-do items include:
Equestrian families - please watch your email for a message from Director of Riding and Head Trainer Linda Langmeier.

Read More

Meet Math Teacher Daniele Ness

Daniele just moved to Simsbury with her husband and three daughters from Maryland where she was teaching middle and upper school Math. With 8 years of teaching experience in Texas and Maryland, Daniele has a passion for math. She earned her BS in Civil Engineering from The University of Texas and worked as an engineer prior to becoming a math teacher. As a civil engineer, she was a consultant for a structural engineering firm designing foundations and rectifying foundation failures in commercial businesses and residences. She was also an engineer for the city of Houston, where she was responsible for coordinating utility relocations for highway expansions. She is excited about combining her love of math and her interest in engineering here at Walker's. She will be coordinating the robotics program as well as teaching math. Read Walker's Weekly throughout the rest of the summer to learn more about our new faculty and staff.

Follow Walker's Athletics on Instagram
Walker's Athletics is on Instagram! Follow @ews_athletics to hear more from Walker's athletes and teams.

From the College Counseling Office
Class of 2019: The Common Application is up and running for the 2018-2019 school year and seniors were notified on Wednesday that they can begin filling it out. The Common Application is very intuitive, with good information to the right under "instructions and help" and under the "view tutorial" heading. Students have been encouraged to continue working on the two major components of the application, the Activities List and Personal Essay, that they began in the spring. Information on supplemental essays that is required by some colleges is now available on the Common Application site as well.

2018-2019 Bus Transportation for Day Students
Walker's offers a daily bus transportation service for day students. The 2018-2019 fee for the service is $800 per child per semester (billed at the beginning of each semester, once in September and once in January) or approximately $10 per day. Additional details on the program can be found on our bus transportation page. Please direct any specific questions to Director of Admission Jenny Reynolds at jreynolds@ethelwalker.org or 860-408-4207.

Walker's in the News

Contact Us
If you have any questions or concerns, we are here to assist you:

Dean of Students Office
Kathleen McNary Pillsbury, Dean of Students and Director of Residential Life, kpillsbury@ethelwalker.org
Nishette Isaac, Assistant Dean of Students, +1-860-408-4324, nisaac@ethelwalker.org
Mallory Pasquariello, Administrative Assistant, +1-860-408-4237, mpasquariello@ethelwalker.org

Registrar/Scheduling/Student Records
Susan Riggles, Registrar, +1-860-408-4235, sriggles@ethelwalker.org

Academic Administration

Julia Sheldon, Dean of Studies, +1-860-408-4335, jsheldon@ethelwalker.org

Technology
Robert Dawson, IT Helpdesk Support, HelpDesk@ethelwalker.org

Health/Learning Services
Joyce McIntyre, School Nurse, +1-860-408-4289, jmcintyre@ethelwalker.org
Joan Skelley, School Counselor, +1-860-408-4284, jskelley@ethelwalker.org
Mary Beth Conley, Academic Support Coordinator, +1-860-408-4283, mconley@ethelwalker.org

Business Office
Greg Jandreau, CFO, +1-860-408-4241, gjandreau@ethelwalker.org
Deb Palazzolo, Student Billing, +1-860-408-4242, dpalazzolo@ethelwalker.org

Athletics
John Monagan, Athletic Director, +1-860-408-4290, jmonagan@ethelwalker.org
Mimi Duran, Assistant Athletic Director, +1-860-408-4294, mduran@ethelwalker.org
Kati Eggert, Aquatics Director/Director of Sports Information, +1-860-408-4292, keggert@ethelwalker.org

Equestrian
Linda Langmeier, Director of Riding and Head Trainer, +1-860-377-1386, llangmeier@ethelwalker.org
Jo Seaver, Senior Trainer, +1-860-573-5496, jseaver@ethelwalker.org
Randi Booth, Assistant Director of Riding/Riding Instructor, +1-860-408-4360, rbooth@ethelwalker.org

Dining Services
Michelle Ades, Director of Dining Services for FLIK, +1-860-408-4275, mades@ethelwalker.org

Contact Us


Phone: (860) 408-4467
Fax: (860) 408-4329
www.ethelwalker.org

Quick Links


The Ethel Walker School
230 Bushy Hill Road
Simsbury, CT 06070

(860) 408-4467
www.ethelwalker.org