Walker's Weekly

August 10, 2018

The fourth summer of Horizons at The Ethel Walker School wrapped up last week. Students were honored last Friday during a "Her Rising" ceremony on campus. Pictured are members of the preschool class, our first pre-K class for the program.

Summer Letter from the Dean of Students Office
We are excited to welcome students to campus in just a few weeks! Families, please watch your email for a message from Dean of Students and Director of Residential Life Kathleen McNary Pillsbury which contains information regarding our Opening Days Schedule, arrival forms, boarding student packing list, RSVP form for parent events, and more. Middle School families, you will also receive an email from Middle School Director Lee-Ann Harris next week.

2018-2019 Bus Transportation for Day Students
Walker's offers a daily bus transportation service for day students. The 2018-2019 fee for the service is $800 per child per semester (billed at the beginning of each semester, once in September and once in January) or approximately $10 per day. Additional details on the program can be found on our bus transportation page. Please direct any specific questions to Director of Enrollment Management Aline Rossiter at arossiter@ethelwalker.org or 860-408-4202.

Meet English Teacher Brigitte Leschhorn
We are excited to welcome Brigitte and her husband to campus all the way from St. Louis, Missouri. Brigitte taught Upper School English for eight years at Mary Institute and St. Louis Country Day School. During her tenure, she designed curricula that purposely incorporated diverse narratives with robust reading, writing and media literacy to develop critical and knowledgeable global citizens. She also advised students, mentored teachers and worked on creating a more equitable school culture. With her BA in English Literature from Washington University in St. Louis and her MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Missouri, Brigitte is a published writer. She will live in Cluett with her husband and will be joining us in August. Read Walker's Weekly throughout the rest of the summer to learn more about our new faculty and staff.

Important Calendar Dates for 2018-2019
Please review the list of important dates for the 2018-2019 school year. These can always be found by clicking the 'Calendar' link at the top of our School website, which also contains our All School and Athletics schedules.

2018-2019 Academic Year Calendar

Walker's in the News

Contact Us
If you have any questions or concerns, we are here to assist you:

Dean of Students Office
Kathleen McNary Pillsbury, Dean of Students and Director of Residential Life, kpillsbury@ethelwalker.org
Nishette Isaac, Assistant Dean of Students, +1-860-408-4324, nisaac@ethelwalker.org
Mallory Pasquariello, Administrative Assistant, +1-860-408-4237, mpasquariello@ethelwalker.org

Registrar/Scheduling/Student Records
Susan Riggles, Registrar, +1-860-408-4235, sriggles@ethelwalker.org

Academic Administration

Julia Sheldon, Dean of Studies, +1-860-408-4335, jsheldon@ethelwalker.org

Technology
Robert Dawson, IT Helpdesk Support, HelpDesk@ethelwalker.org

Health/Learning Services
Joyce McIntyre, School Nurse, +1-860-408-4289, jmcintyre@ethelwalker.org
Joan Skelley, School Counselor, +1-860-408-4284, jskelley@ethelwalker.org
Mary Beth Conley, Academic Support Coordinator, +1-860-408-4283, mconley@ethelwalker.org

Business Office
Greg Jandreau, CFO, +1-860-408-4241, gjandreau@ethelwalker.org
Deb Palazzolo, Student Billing, +1-860-408-4242, dpalazzolo@ethelwalker.org

Athletics
John Monagan, Athletic Director, +1-860-408-4290, jmonagan@ethelwalker.org
Mimi Duran, Assistant Athletic Director, +1-860-408-4294, mduran@ethelwalker.org
Kati Eggert, Aquatics Director/Director of Sports Information, +1-860-408-4292, keggert@ethelwalker.org

Equestrian
Linda Langmeier, Director of Riding and Head Trainer, +1-860-377-1386, llangmeier@ethelwalker.org
Jo Seaver, Senior Trainer, +1-860-573-5496, jseaver@ethelwalker.org
Randi Booth, Assistant Director of Riding/Riding Instructor, +1-860-408-4360, rbooth@ethelwalker.org

Dining Services
Michelle Ades, Director of Dining Services for FLIK, +1-860-408-4275, mades@ethelwalker.org

Contact Us


Phone: (860) 408-4467
Fax: (860) 408-4329
www.ethelwalker.org

Quick Links


The Ethel Walker School
230 Bushy Hill Road
Simsbury, CT 06070

(860) 408-4467
www.ethelwalker.org