Walker's Weekly

September 7, 2018

Welcome to the 2018-2019 school year! View photos from Opening Days

Walker's Begins 108th School Year
The 2018-2019 academic year officially began this week, with the start of classes following a busy Opening Days schedule filled with activities, field trips, preseason practices, and special Chapel events. Walker's welcomed 75 new students this year from 10 states and 7 different countries, including Australia, Bermuda, China, Germany, Thailand, and United Kingdom.

Read More and View Photos

Middle School Bonds at Camp Becket
On Sunday, September 2 and Monday, September 3, Walker's Middle School departed with Ms. Harris, Dr. Semk, Ms. Hofheimer, Mrs. Greshiin and Ms. Eggert for a trip to Camp Becket/Chimney Corners. With 20 returning students and 15 new girls, the class bonded and learned leadership strategies. The 8th graders enjoyed an overnight and challenged themselves on the high ropes course. When the 6th and 7th graders arrived on Monday, students worked to learn everyone's name and strategize together on low rope challenges. It was hot, but tons of fun! Everyone was ready to start school together on Tuesday.

Help Spread the Word
We have such amazing girls and many of them have activities outside of Walker's where they win awards, get special recognition or engage in exciting activities. Please be sure to share your news with Michelle Helmin, Director of External Affairs, at mhelmin@ethelwalker.org.

Bus Transportation Service Starts Monday   
Walker's offers a daily bus transportation service for day students. The regular schedule will commence on Monday, September 10. Additional details on the program can be found on our bus transportation page. Please direct any specific questions to Director of Admission Jenny Reynolds at jreynolds@ethelwalker.org or 860-408-4207.

From the College Counseling Office
Class of 2019: We are thrilled to welcome back the seniors, and have been impressed with the college-related work they accomplished over the summer, especially visiting colleges. Students have two main goals this fall: to produce a final list of colleges to which they will apply, and to complete the Common Application, including the essay. We will spend part of each seminar class working on meeting these two goals, while also discussing other important aspects of the college search and application process.

Read More

Freshman and Senior Parent Volunteers Needed
On behalf of the EWSPA Upper School Committee, we are in need of two parent representatives for the senior class and two parent representatives for the freshman class. Duties include working with your Walker's class representative to plan fun events for the girls throughout the year. You are given a budget from the EWSPA and it is the discretion of the class how to use this budget for Holiday parties, pizza parties, ice cream socials, etc. We will have four meetings over the course of the year, dates to be determined. If you are organized and enjoy planning celebrations, we would love to have you on board. If you are interested in helping or have questions, please contact Grace Petrarca P'19, '22, EWSPA Upper School and Parent Volunteer Coordinator, at gshp@aol.com.

Current Exhibitions at Walker's
Walker's is excited to present the first set of exhibitions for the 2018-2019 year. In the Constance Lavino Bell Library Gallery, enjoy a site-specific "Splice" installation by Jacquelyn Gleisner through November 24. Photography by Dan Mead and Sally Eagle will be on display in the Letitia McClure Potter '55, P'85 Gallery and Bell Gallery Extension until October 27. An artist reception for both exhibitions will be held Friday, September 28 from 6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. in the Bell Gallery. For the full exhibition schedule, visit our Art Galleries page.

Important Upcoming Dates

  • Tuesday, September 11: EWSPA Board Meeting (Living Room), 6:00 p.m.-7:00 p.m.
  • Thursday, September 13: Cicerone Dinner (Common Room), 5:30 p.m.-6:00 p.m.
  • Friday, September 14: Required Event - Required for All Students, 6:00 p.m.-8:30 p.m.
  • Friday, September 21: Pep Rally - Required for All Students, 5:30 p.m.-8:00 p.m.
  • Monday, September 24: Picture Day
  • Thursday, September 27: Middle School Back to School Night, 5:30 p.mm.-8:00 p.m.
  • Friday, September 28: Artist Reception (Bell Gallery), 6:00 p.m.-7:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, September 29: Horizons Saturday Academy (Library), 9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
  • Friday, October 26-Saturday, October 27: Family Weekend

Walker's in the Media

Weekend Activities
Friday, September 7: Avon Old Farms Opening Weekend, 7:45 p.m.-11:15 p.m. $3 entrance fee
Saturday, September 8: ACT at Hall High School, 7:30 a.m.-12:45 p.m.
Saturday, September 8: Westfarms Mall Trip, 1:30 p.m.-5:30 p.m.
Saturday, September 8: Avon Old Farms Opening Weekend, 7:45 p.m.-11:15 p.m. $3 entrance fee
Sunday, September 9: Open Library, 1:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m.
Sunday, September 9: Area Drive, 1:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m.

Contact Us
If you have any questions or concerns, we are here to assist you:

Dean of Students Office
Kathleen McNary Pillsbury, Dean of Students and Director of Residential Life, kpillsbury@ethelwalker.org
Nishette Isaac, Assistant Dean of Students, nisaac@ethelwalker.org
Mallory Pasquariello, Administrative Assistant, +1-860-408-4237, mpasquariello@ethelwalker.org

Registrar/Scheduling/Student Records
Susan Riggles, Registrar, +1-860-408-4235, sriggles@ethelwalker.org

Academic Administration

Julia Sheldon, Dean of Studies, +1-860-408-4335, jsheldon@ethelwalker.org

Technology
Robert Dawson, IT Helpdesk Support, HelpDesk@ethelwalker.org

Health/Learning Services
Joyce McIntyre, School Nurse, +1-860-408-4289, jmcintyre@ethelwalker.org
Joan Skelley, School Counselor, +1-860-408-4284, jskelley@ethelwalker.org
Mary Beth Conley, Academic Support Coordinator, +1-860-408-4283, mconley@ethelwalker.org

Business Office
Greg Jandreau, CFO, +1-860-408-4241, gjandreau@ethelwalker.org
Deb Palazzolo, Student Billing, +1-860-408-4242, dpalazzolo@ethelwalker.org

Athletics
John Monagan, Athletic Director, +1-860-408-4290, jmonagan@ethelwalker.org
Mimi Duran, Assistant Athletic Director, +1-860-408-4294, mduran@ethelwalker.org
Kati Eggert, Aquatics Director/Director of Sports Information, +1-860-408-4292, keggert@ethelwalker.org

Equestrian
Linda Langmeier, Director of Riding and Head Trainer, +1-860-377-1386, llangmeier@ethelwalker.org
Jo Seaver, Senior Trainer, +1-860-573-5496, jseaver@ethelwalker.org
Randi Booth, Assistant Director of Riding/Riding Instructor, +1-860-408-4360, rbooth@ethelwalker.org

Dining Services
Michelle Ades, Director of Dining Services for FLIK, +1-860-408-4275, mades@ethelwalker.org

Contact Us


Phone: (860) 408-4467
Fax: (860) 408-4329
www.ethelwalker.org

Quick Links


The Ethel Walker School
230 Bushy Hill Road
Simsbury, CT 06070

(860) 408-4467
www.ethelwalker.org