Walker's Weekly

September 14, 2018

Walker's students showed off their spirit colors on Friday. Hooray Sunray to our new Suns and Dials!

Sixth Grade STEM: Ecology Students Visit Walker's Apiary
Mrs. Greshin's sixth grade STEM: Ecology class visited Walker's apiary on Friday as part of their unit on honeybees. Walker's parent and professional beekeeper Gilman Mucaj P'21 described his use of smoke to calm the bees before examining them, pointed out the queen bee among all the workers and even found a worker bee emerging from its brood cell while the class watched. Students saw all of the parts of a hive box in preparation for next week, when they will get a chance to build their own hive box in class.

Horizons at The Ethel Walker School
"Big Sisters" Share Their Experiences

During assembly on Wednesday, September 12, Horizons at The Ethel Walker School volunteers, or "big sisters", Claudia Luciani '21, Caroline Smith '19, Lizzy Strapp '21, Maisie Smith '19, and Hannah Schweitzer '19 shared heartfelt stories from their summer working with students from Horizons at The Ethel Walker School, a six-week summer program for Hartford public school girls beginning in pre-K through their eighth grade year. The big sisters shared moments where they felt their presence made an impact, or moments in which the Horizons students impacted them.

Watch on GameOnStream*

*Families: If you have not yet registered for GameOnStream, click on "REQUEST ACCESS" and follow the instructions to enter your email address and select a new password. Please use the email address you use to log in to Veracross. You will receive an email confirming your new account creation once you click the submit button.

Varsity Field Hockey and Soccer Teams Start Season Strong
This week, the varsity field hockey and soccer teams both opened their seasons with great wins. The field hockey team earned a victory at Choate on Wednesday, September 12 and the soccer team traveled to Trumbull for their win against Christian Heritage on Saturday, September 8.

Read More

From the College Counseling Office
Class of 2020 and 2021: We will hold an informational meeting on Thursday, September 20 from 6:30 p.m.-7:30 p.m. in the Living Room for students and parents interested in learning more about the spring break college trip to California.

Read More for College Visits

Order Care Packages from Fitzgerald's
Does your daughter have a birthday or special event coming up? Parents near and far have the opportunity to order and provide goodies for special sporting events, class parties, birthdays, and other activities through Fitzgerald's, a locally-owned grocery store. Place orders with Fitzgerald's by calling +1-860-658-2271. Ask for Heather or Tara in the Bakery Department. Your options include birthday cake and a mylar balloon; or a large pizza, birthday cake and a mylar balloon. Payments are paid directly to Fitzgerald's upon ordering. Orders must be placed by 4:00 p.m. the day before the event/birthday.

Save the Date for Family Weekend
Family Weekend will be held Friday, October 26 and Saturday, October 27, 2018. Please come and attend classes with your daughter, meet her teachers, cheer for our athletic teams and enjoy a Parents Association reception. Stay tuned for the full weekend schedule and RSVP information.

Important Upcoming Dates

  • Thursday, September 20: Spring Break College Tour Info Session for 10th & 11th Grade Students and Families (Living Room), 6:30 p.m.-7:30 p.m.
  • Friday, September 21: Pep Rally - Required for All Students, 5:30 p.m.-8:00 p.m.
  • Monday, September 24: Picture Day
  • Thursday, September 27: Middle School Back to School Night, 5:30 p.m.-8:00 p.m.
  • Friday, September 28: Artist Reception (Bell Gallery), 6:00 p.m.-7:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, September 29: Horizons Saturday Academy (Library), 9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
  • Friday, October 26-Saturday, October 27: Family Weekend

Walker's in the Media

Weekend Activities
Saturday, September 15: Grange Fair, 9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Saturday, September 15: Blue Back Square Trip, 6:00 p.m.-10:00 p.m.
Saturday, September 15: To All the Boys I've Loved Before Movie Showing in the Centennial Center Soc, 7:00 p.m.-9:00 p.m.
Sunday, September 16: Open Library, 1:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m.
Sunday, September 16: Six Flags Trip, 11:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
Sunday, September 16: Area Drive to Walmart, Marshall's and Simsbury Commons, 1:00 p.m.-3:30 p.m.
Sunday, September 16: Ultimate Frisbee with Mr. Schwoerke, 10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.

Contact Us
If you have any questions or concerns, we are here to assist you:

Dean of Students Office
Kathleen McNary Pillsbury, Dean of Students and Director of Residential Life, kpillsbury@ethelwalker.org
Nishette Isaac, Assistant Dean of Students, nisaac@ethelwalker.org
Mallory Pasquariello, Administrative Assistant, +1-860-408-4237, mpasquariello@ethelwalker.org

Registrar/Scheduling/Student Records
Susan Riggles, Registrar, +1-860-408-4235, sriggles@ethelwalker.org

Academic Administration

Julia Sheldon, Dean of Studies, +1-860-408-4335, jsheldon@ethelwalker.org

Technology
Robert Dawson, IT Helpdesk Support, HelpDesk@ethelwalker.org

Health/Learning Services
Joyce McIntyre, School Nurse, +1-860-408-4289, jmcintyre@ethelwalker.org
Joan Skelley, School Counselor, +1-860-408-4284, jskelley@ethelwalker.org
Mary Beth Conley, Academic Support Coordinator, +1-860-408-4283, mconley@ethelwalker.org

Business Office
Greg Jandreau, CFO, +1-860-408-4241, gjandreau@ethelwalker.org
Deb Palazzolo, Student Billing, +1-860-408-4242, dpalazzolo@ethelwalker.org

Athletics
John Monagan, Athletic Director, +1-860-408-4290, jmonagan@ethelwalker.org
Mimi Duran, Assistant Athletic Director, +1-860-408-4294, mduran@ethelwalker.org
Kati Eggert, Aquatics Director/Director of Sports Information, +1-860-408-4292, keggert@ethelwalker.org

Equestrian
Linda Langmeier, Director of Riding and Head Trainer, +1-860-377-1386, llangmeier@ethelwalker.org
Jo Seaver, Senior Trainer, +1-860-573-5496, jseaver@ethelwalker.org
Randi Booth, Assistant Director of Riding/Riding Instructor, +1-860-408-4360, rbooth@ethelwalker.org

Dining Services
Michelle Ades, Director of Dining Services for FLIK, +1-860-408-4275, mades@ethelwalker.org

Contact Us


Phone: (860) 408-4467
Fax: (860) 408-4329
www.ethelwalker.org

Quick Links


The Ethel Walker School
230 Bushy Hill Road
Simsbury, CT 06070

(860) 408-4467
www.ethelwalker.org