Walker's Weekly

September 9, 2016

Welcome to the 2016-2017 school year! View photos from opening days

View Photos from Opening Days
Classes began on Wednesday following our opening days filled with preseason, registration, orientation, parent events, and Chapels. Welcome to our new girls, and wishing everyone a great start to the year!

View Photos

Picture Day Reminder
Walker's picture day is this coming Monday, September 12. If your daughter will not be at school on Monday, we'll make sure we take her photo on a subsequent make-up day. The portraits will be taken by Coffee Pond Photography during free blocks on the Chapel lawn, or in the Living Room in the event of rain. You will receive emailed instructions for viewing your child's proof portraits online and will be given a private password to place orders at www.coffeepond.com. Be sure to have your spam blocker set to accept emails from lifeguards@coffeepond.com. Please note that these pictures may also be used in a variety of school publications including Walker's yearbook, the Pepperpot.

Save the Date for Family Weekend 2016
Family Weekend will be held Friday, October 28 and Saturday, October 29, 2016. Please come and attend classes with your daughter, meet her teachers, cheer for our athletic teams and celebrate the opening of the Centennial Center!

From the College Counseling Office
It was great to meet with the seniors in the college counseling seminar this week, and to hear about their summer and college-related activities. Seminar will last the entire first quarter and by the end, students will have finalized the list of colleges to which they are applying and completed their Common Application and essay. College counseling seminar for juniors will start second semester.

Read More

Watch Walker's Sports and Events Online
As part of keeping the Walker's community connected, each family is entitled to an annual subscription to Bleachers at no cost to the family. Features of the Bleachers platform include:

  • High-definition streaming of games & special events
  • Open to all Walker's parents, students, faculty and staff
  • Available on computer, tablet or smart phone
  • Watch live or relive the action later on-demand
To get started, visit gobleachers.com/ethelwalker and click on the green 'Activate Account' button.

Walker's in the News

Contact Us
If you have any questions or concerns, we are here to assist you:

The Dean of Students Office
Lauren Raia, Dean of Students, (860) 408-4239, lraia@ethelwalker.org
Mallory Pasquariello, Administrative Assistant, (860) 408-4237, mpasquariello@ethelwalker.org

Academics
Jill Harrington, Dean of Studies & Faculty, (860) 408-4235, jharrington@ethelwalker.org

Technology
Robert Dawson, IT Helpdesk Support, HelpDesk@ethelwalker.org

Health/Learning Services
Joyce McIntyre, School Nurse, (860) 408-4289, jmcintyre@ethelwalker.org
Joan Skelley, School Counselor, (860) 408-4284, jskelley@ethelwalker.org
Mary Beth Conley, Academic Support Coordinator, (860) 408-4283, mconley@ethelwalker.org

Business Office
Greg Jandreau, CFO, (860) 408-4241, gjandreau@ethelwalker.org
Deb Palazzolo, Student Billing, (860) 408-4242, dpalazzolo@ethelwalker.org

Athletics
John Monagan, Athletic Director, (860) 408-4290, jmonagan@ethelwalker.org

Equestrian Center
Hillary Rheinheimer, Director of Riding, (860) 408-4355, hrheinheimer@ethelwalker.org

Parent Portal

Team Schedules

All School Calendar

The Ethel Walker School
230 Bushy Hill Road Simsbury, CT 06070

Phone: (860) 408-4467
www.ethelwalker.org