Walker's Weekly

June 23, 2017

Walker's students and 2017 graduates meet up in Madrid, Spain. Students, please share your summer travel, job and internship photos with us at newsletters@ethelwalker.org.

Summer Reading and Assignments
Available Online

Please check our Summer Reading webpage for the summer reading lists and assignments that were sent out last week. Please note: the assignment for the Advanced English course 'Siblings, Sisterhood, and Twins: Literature of Family' has since been posted for students taking that course in the fall.

Read More

2017-2018 Bus Transportation Information
Beginning in fall 2017, Walker's will offer daily bus transportation from Bishops Corner in West Hartford to our Simsbury campus. The program will begin Monday, September 11 through Monday, June 4. Students will be picked up in the morning with a return trip at the end of the day that will accommodate the typical after school programs. Please watch Walker's Weekly for when full details will be available. More information and details on how to sign up for the service will be posted to the parent portal on the Walker's website in the coming weeks. Please direct any specific questions to the admissions office at
(860) 408-4200.

Walker's Attends "The Future is Now" Event
at Yale University

Walker's alumna Sarah Prager '04 was recognized for her work on LGBTQ history at "The Future is Now" event at Yale University on Tuesday, hosted by Connecticut Women's Education and Legal Fund (CWEALF) and Young Women Rising. Also in attendance were Stephanie Sponzo '14 (who introduced honoree Haddiyyah Ali), and Walker's faculty members Carol Clark-Flanagan and Elisa Cardona.

Equestrian Update
Hooray Sunray to Becky Morris '19 and Julia Luciani '20 for their high placings at the Saratoga Springs Horse Show! Becky was first in the 15-17 equitation on the flat and over fences and Julia placed second in the 12-14 equitation flat and second and sixth in the children's hunters.

Horizons Supported by 100 Women Who Can
Horizons at The Ethel Walker School was chosen by the Farmington Valley-based group philanthropy organization "100 Women Who Can" as one of the local non-profits they support this year. This week, they delivered $14,850 in checks to Horizons to benefit the six-week, full-day educational enrichment summer session for Hartford public school students.

Summer Fun in Simsbury
Each summer, Walker's offers a wide range of fun
summer programs on campus for girls and boys of all ages and levels of interest. Visit www.ethelwalker.org/summer to learn more about our 2017 offerings. Spread the word! For more information about summer programs at Walker's, contact Sarah Bednar at sbednar@ethelwalker.org or (860) 408-4292.

Contact Us
If you have any questions or concerns, we are here to assist you:

Dean of Students Office
Lauren Raia, Dean of Students, (860) 408-4239, lraia@ethelwalker.org
Nishette Isaac, Assistant Dean of Students, (860) 408-4324, nisaac@ethelwalker.org
Mallory Pasquariello, Administrative Assistant, (860) 408-4237, mpasquariello@ethelwalker.org

Academic Administration
Jill Harrington, Dean of Studies & Faculty, (860) 408-4235, jharrington@ethelwalker.org

Technology
Robert Dawson, IT Helpdesk Support, HelpDesk@ethelwalker.org

Health/Learning Services
Joyce McIntyre, School Nurse, (860) 408-4289, jmcintyre@ethelwalker.org
Joan Skelley, School Counselor, (860) 408-4284, jskelley@ethelwalker.org
Mary Beth Conley, Academic Support Coordinator, (860) 408-4283, mconley@ethelwalker.org

Business Office
Greg Jandreau, CFO, (860) 408-4241, gjandreau@ethelwalker.org
Deb Palazzolo, Student Billing, (860) 408-4242, dpalazzolo@ethelwalker.org

Athletics
John Monagan, Athletic Director, (860) 408-4290, jmonagan@ethelwalker.org
Mimi Duran, Assistant Athletic Director, (860) 408-4294, mduran@ethelwalker.org

Equestrian
Shachine Belle, Head Trainer, (860) 408-4355, sbelle@ethelwalker.org
Randi Booth, Associate Head of Riding, (860) 408-4360, rbooth@ethelwalker.org

Contact Us


Phone: (860) 408-4467
Fax: (860) 408-4329
www.ethelwalker.org

Quick Links


The Ethel Walker School
230 Bushy Hill Road
Simsbury, CT 06070

(860) 408-4467
www.ethelwalker.org