Walker's Weekly

July 14, 2017

Members from the LEGO Foundation visited campus for a board meeting on Tuesday. They had a chance to visit our Horizons at The Ethel Walker School second grade class where the girls were creating electrical circuits to power lightbulbs. View More Photos From This Week

Carla Squatrito of Carla's Pasta Visits Campus
Carla Squatrito and her "Cucina di Carla" family visited campus on Monday, sharing her success story and love of cooking with our Horizons at The Ethel Walker School girls. Students enjoyed a cooking demonstration and a delicious lunch courtesy of Carla's Pasta. Carla Squatrito was recently honored for her entrepreneurship and leadership during a "Celebrating Women's Leadership" dinner sponsored by CPTV held in Hartford.

Students: Upload Your Photo ID and Other Summer To-Dos
We hope you are having a great summer! Students, please visit PowerSchool Learning (Formerly Haiku) for your summer to-do list, which includes uploading a photo for your ID, signing up for preseason, and more. Checklists for families are also available on our Back to School Information page.

Boarders: Let Us Know Your Travel Plans
Boarding students: Once you have secured your travel arrangements, please fill out the Boarding Student Arrival Information form for New Students and Returning Students. For recommended airports and other transportation details, visit our Traveling to Campus: Fall 2017 page.

Register for Preseason and Conditioning Clinics
Please sign up here if you plan on attending preseason in the fall of 2017. Preseason begins with check-in on Saturday, September 2 from 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. We suggest returning day students arrive towards the end of that time period, while returning boarding students are encouraged to arrive earlier. All new students are encouraged to arrive closer to 10:00.

A Dodgers field hockey day camp will also be offered August 20-22, and a preseason conditioning clinic will be held August 28-31, focusing on agility, endurance, and core skills. To register for these clinics, visit www.ethelwalker.org/summer

Naturalization Ceremony Video
Three months ago, Walker's welcomed individuals from 23 countries on campus as they became new U.S. citizens in a special naturalization ceremony. Enjoy this video as we remember the impact this ceremony had on everyone in attendance.  

Watch Video

Reminder: Medical Forms Due July 31
Please schedule your medical visits as soon as possible and send in Medical Forms using Magnus Health by July 31. Magnus Health is now accessible to families - please follow these instructions to access your Magnus Health account and submit your student(s)' medical records. If you need assistance, please contact customer support at Magnus Health by phone at 877-461-6831 or by email at service@magnushealthportal.com.

Middle School Orientation Information
Middle School families, we are excited for the school year to start in less than two months! In order to start the year off in the best way possible, we will begin with an orientation trip to the Berkshire Outdoor Center at Camp Becket in Becket, MA. This trip is a great way for our returning girls to reconnect and to welcome our new students to the middle school! Please watch your home mailboxes for documents which need to be returned to Middle School Administrative Coordinator Maureen Fiedler by Saturday, July 30.

Schedule for Opening Days

  • Preseason Athletes: Saturday, September 2,
    10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Register for Preseason
  • 8th Grade and Returning Upper School Students:
    Tuesday, September 5, 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
  • 6th and 7th Grade and New* Upper School Students:
    Wednesday, September 6, 8:30 a.m. - 11:45 a.m.

  • *Please note that all rising 9th graders are considered new girls and should follow the New Girl Schedule. Parents of preseason athletes are not required to return for new student registration on Wednesday, but are welcome to do so.

Contact Us
If you have any questions or concerns, we are here to assist you:

Dean of Students Office
Lauren Raia, Dean of Students, (860) 408-4239, lraia@ethelwalker.org
Nishette Isaac, Assistant Dean of Students, (860) 408-4324, nisaac@ethelwalker.org
Mallory Pasquariello, Administrative Assistant, (860) 408-4237, mpasquariello@ethelwalker.org

Academic Administration
Jill Harrington, Dean of Studies & Faculty, (860) 408-4235, jharrington@ethelwalker.org

Technology
Robert Dawson, IT Helpdesk Support, HelpDesk@ethelwalker.org

Health/Learning Services
Joyce McIntyre, School Nurse, (860) 408-4289, jmcintyre@ethelwalker.org
Joan Skelley, School Counselor, (860) 408-4284, jskelley@ethelwalker.org
Mary Beth Conley, Academic Support Coordinator, (860) 408-4283, mconley@ethelwalker.org

Business Office
Greg Jandreau, CFO, (860) 408-4241, gjandreau@ethelwalker.org
Deb Palazzolo, Student Billing, (860) 408-4242, dpalazzolo@ethelwalker.org

Athletics
John Monagan, Athletic Director, (860) 408-4290, jmonagan@ethelwalker.org
Mimi Duran, Assistant Athletic Director, (860) 408-4294, mduran@ethelwalker.org

Equestrian
Shachine Belle, Head Trainer, (860) 408-4355, sbelle@ethelwalker.org
Randi Booth, Associate Head of Riding, (860) 408-4360, rbooth@ethelwalker.org

Contact Us


Phone: (860) 408-4467
Fax: (860) 408-4329
www.ethelwalker.org

Quick Links


The Ethel Walker School
230 Bushy Hill Road
Simsbury, CT 06070

(860) 408-4467
www.ethelwalker.org