Walker's Weekly

July 21, 2017

The Honorable Robert A. Richardson, Magistrate Judge for the United States District Court, District of Connecticut, was the mystery reader for Horizons at The Ethel Walker School students on Thursday. Judge Richardson led the court proceeding during a naturalization ceremony on campus earlier this year.

Information Regarding Our New Schedule
Please check your inboxes for a letter from Head of School Dr. Meera Viswanathan ("Ms. Vis") regarding some specific changes to our weekly schedule to bring it further into line with our philosophy of education. 

Arrival Times for Opening Days
We can't wait to welcome you to campus this fall! See below for the registration dates and times for Opening Days, which are also listed on our Back to School Information webpage.

  • Preseason Athletes: Saturday, September 2,
    10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Register for Preseason
  • 8th Grade and Returning Upper School Students:
    Tuesday, September 5, 8:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.
  • 6th and 7th Grade and New* Upper School Students:
    Wednesday, September 6, 8:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.

*Please note that all rising 9th graders are considered new girls and should follow the New Girl Schedule. Parents of preseason athletes are not required to return for new student registration on Wednesday, but are welcome to do so.

Important Summer To-Do Items
Please be sure to refer to our Back to School Information webpage for the summer checklist items most relevant to your family. Newly added tasks are added in red. Important to-do items include:

  1. Send in Medical Forms using Magnus Health by 7/31/17
  2. New students, upload a photo for your ID in PowerSchool Learning
  3. Fill out the Travel Information Form for New Boarding Students and Returning Boarding Students
  4. Work on your Summer Reading Assignment
  5. Sign up for preseason if you'll be playing cross country,
    field hockey, soccer or volleyball in the fall
  6. Review the list of required items for sports, dance, and riding. All students will need to take a required swim test.

View Full Checklists

Announcing Our New Director of
Enrollment Management

Dr. Meera Viswanathan is pleased to announce the appointment of Aline Rossiter as the School's new director of enrollment management. Aline will lead all aspects of admissions management including financial aid, reenrollment and retention, research and information management, and admissions marketing for the School, both Middle and Upper. Aline's appointment is effective July 27, 2017.

Read More

History Teacher Attends Great Decisions
Teacher Institute

Walker's history teacher Jenn Pelletier recently attended the Great Decisions Teacher Institute, a week-long training institute put on by the Foreign Policy Association, held in New York. Participants included educators from Canada, the U.S. and Mexico. The institute consisted of lectures by professors, journalists, and U.N ambassadors, curriculum-building workshops, ad evening events throughout the city.

Watch Our Commencement Highlight Video
Here's to fellowship, sisterhood, and the gift of girls' education. We are excited to share this beautiful highlight video from our 105th Commencement. Enjoy!

Watch Video

Contact Us
If you have any questions or concerns, we are here to assist you:

Dean of Students Office
Lauren Raia Mooney, Dean of Students, (860) 408-4239, lmooney@ethelwalker.org
Nishette Isaac, Assistant Dean of Students, (860) 408-4324, nisaac@ethelwalker.org
Mallory Pasquariello, Administrative Assistant, (860) 408-4237, mpasquariello@ethelwalker.org

Academic Administration
Jill Harrington, Dean of Academics, (860) 408-4235, jharrington@ethelwalker.org

Technology
Robert Dawson, IT Helpdesk Support, HelpDesk@ethelwalker.org

Health/Learning Services
Joyce McIntyre, School Nurse, (860) 408-4289, jmcintyre@ethelwalker.org
Joan Skelley, School Counselor, (860) 408-4284, jskelley@ethelwalker.org
Mary Beth Conley, Academic Support Coordinator, (860) 408-4283, mconley@ethelwalker.org

Business Office
Greg Jandreau, CFO, (860) 408-4241, gjandreau@ethelwalker.org
Deb Palazzolo, Student Billing, (860) 408-4242, dpalazzolo@ethelwalker.org

Athletics
John Monagan, Athletic Director, (860) 408-4290, jmonagan@ethelwalker.org
Mimi Duran, Assistant Athletic Director, (860) 408-4294, mduran@ethelwalker.org

Equestrian
Shachine Belle, Head Trainer, (860) 408-4355, sbelle@ethelwalker.org
Randi Booth, Associate Head of Riding, (860) 408-4360, rbooth@ethelwalker.org

Contact Us


Phone: (860) 408-4467
Fax: (860) 408-4329
www.ethelwalker.org

Quick Links


The Ethel Walker School
230 Bushy Hill Road
Simsbury, CT 06070

(860) 408-4467
www.ethelwalker.org