Walker's Weekly

August 4, 2017

The third summer of Horizons at The Ethel Walker School wrapped up this week. Students will be honored this evening during a "Her Rising Night" ceremony on campus. 

UTC Engineers Share Model Spacesuit With All-Girls Horizons Program Participants
Wednesday, August 2 was an exceptionally busy day on campus for our Horizons scholars, student volunteers and teachers with two very exciting visits from community members. Three engineers from UTC Aerospace, Inc. visited Walker's to share a model spacesuit with students.

Read More

2017-2018 Bus Transportation Sign-up
Beginning on Monday, September 11, a daily bus transportation service will be available for up to 14 students. The fee for the service is $800 per child per semester (billed at the beginning of each semester, once in September and once in January) or approximately $10 per day. Additional details on the program can be found here. Information about adjusted daily schedules will be posted as notices in Friday's Walker's Weekly and on the parent portal bus transportation page. Please direct any specific questions to the admissions office at (860) 408-4200.

Read More

RSVP for Opening Days Events
Families, please use the form linked below to RSVP for Opening Days receptions on Saturday, September 2 and Wednesday, September 6. Coffee drop-in times will also be offered. A full Opening Days schedule is forthcoming. We look forward to seeing you soon!

RSVP

Important Summer To-Do Items
Please be sure to refer to our Back to School Information webpage for the summer checklist items most relevant to your family. Newly added tasks are added in red. Important to-do items include:

View Full Checklists

Student Artwork on Exhibit in Hartford
Hooray Sunray to Bri Goolsby '18, whose artwork is on display at the Hartford Art School's Silpe Gallery for their annual student exhibition. This summer, Bri was a participant of the School's summer portfolio prep workshop. An opening reception was held in the Silpe Gallery from 3:00 to 4:00 p.m. on Friday, August 4. Congratulations, Bri!


Contact Us
If you have any questions or concerns, we are here to assist you:

Dean of Students Office
Lauren Raia Mooney, Dean of Students, (860) 408-4239, lmooney@ethelwalker.org
Nishette Isaac, Assistant Dean of Students, (860) 408-4324, nisaac@ethelwalker.org
Mallory Pasquariello, Administrative Assistant, (860) 408-4237, mpasquariello@ethelwalker.org

Academic Administration
Jill Harrington, Dean of Academics, (860) 408-4235, jharrington@ethelwalker.org

Technology
Robert Dawson, IT Helpdesk Support, HelpDesk@ethelwalker.org

Health/Learning Services
Joyce McIntyre, School Nurse, (860) 408-4289, jmcintyre@ethelwalker.org
Joan Skelley, School Counselor, (860) 408-4284, jskelley@ethelwalker.org
Mary Beth Conley, Academic Support Coordinator, (860) 408-4283, mconley@ethelwalker.org

Business Office
Greg Jandreau, CFO, (860) 408-4241, gjandreau@ethelwalker.org
Deb Palazzolo, Student Billing, (860) 408-4242, dpalazzolo@ethelwalker.org

Athletics
John Monagan, Athletic Director, (860) 408-4290, jmonagan@ethelwalker.org
Mimi Duran, Assistant Athletic Director, (860) 408-4294, mduran@ethelwalker.org

Equestrian
Shachine Belle, Head Trainer, (860) 408-4355, sbelle@ethelwalker.org
Randi Booth, Assistant Director of Riding/Riding Instructor, (860) 408-4360, rbooth@ethelwalker.org

Contact Us


Phone: (860) 408-4467
Fax: (860) 408-4329
www.ethelwalker.org

Quick Links


The Ethel Walker School
230 Bushy Hill Road
Simsbury, CT 06070

(860) 408-4467
www.ethelwalker.org