Walker's Weekly

August 18, 2017

Walker's welcomed nearly 150 teachers, school leaders, and parents to campus on Friday for the 7th annual Edcamp Connecticut, an educator-led "unconference" that was co-founded by Walker's Dean of Academic Technology and Innovation Sarah Edson along with two colleagues in 2011. Read More

Schedule for Opening Days
The full schedule for Opening Days including preseason, orientation and the start of classes can now be found on our Back to School webpage. We can't wait to welcome you to campus!

View Full Schedule

2017-2018 Bus Transportation Sign-up
Beginning on Monday, September 11, a daily bus
transportation service will be available for up to 14 students. The fee for the service is $800 per child per semester (billed at the beginning of each semester, once in September and once in January) or approximately $10 per day. Additional details on the program can be found here. Information about adjusted daily schedules will be posted as notices in Friday's Walker's Weekly and on the parent portal bus transportation page. Please direct any specific questions to the admissions office at (860) 408-4200.

Read More

Boardingware Training
Dear Students, Parents, and Guardians: In a few days you will be receiving an email from Boardingware, an online system that will allow us to bring the whereabouts of students into the 21st century. In the past, students used a paper card system to sign-in/sign-out on a daily basis and parents used a weekend leave request process through Veracross. This new system will allow for easier use by both parents and students and it is a fully-integrated electronic system that will allows for easier access to real-time information on our students.

Read More

Equestrian Update
It has been a busy summer for our equestrians! Hooray Sunray to Hope Cushman '18, who was champion in the 15-17 Equitation Division and 5th in the USEF Medal Class at HITS Saugerties, and to Becky Morris '19, who was circuit champion for 15-17 Equitation at the Vermont Summer Festival Horse Show.

From the College Counseling Office
Class of 2018: We are looking forward to your return, and eager to hear about your college visits, and application progress! See you in a couple of weeks.

Classes of 2019 and 2020: We are excited to announce that Walker’s is piloting a college visit tour program this spring with Education First (EF). With over 50 years of experience conducting student tours, EF led Walker’s spring break trip to Italy this year, and has coordinated several trips for other area schools.

Read More

Save These Dates!
  • October 9, 2017: Admissions Open House
  • October 14, 2017: 100 Years in Simsbury Celebration
  • October 20-21, 2017Family Weekend
  • November 9, 2017: Admissions Open House
  • December 4, 2017: Admissions Open House
  • April 13, 2018: Grandparent's and Friend's Day

Contact Us
If you have any questions or concerns, we are here to assist you:

Dean of Students Office
Lauren Raia Mooney, Dean of Students, (860) 408-4239, lmooney@ethelwalker.org
Nishette Isaac, Assistant Dean of Students, (860) 408-4324, nisaac@ethelwalker.org
Mallory Pasquariello, Administrative Assistant, (860) 408-4237, mpasquariello@ethelwalker.org

Academic Administration
Jill Harrington, Dean of Academics, (860) 408-4235, jharrington@ethelwalker.org

Technology
Robert Dawson, IT Helpdesk Support, HelpDesk@ethelwalker.org

Health/Learning Services
Joyce McIntyre, School Nurse, (860) 408-4289, jmcintyre@ethelwalker.org
Joan Skelley, School Counselor, (860) 408-4284, jskelley@ethelwalker.org
Mary Beth Conley, Academic Support Coordinator, (860) 408-4283, mconley@ethelwalker.org

Business Office
Greg Jandreau, CFO, (860) 408-4241, gjandreau@ethelwalker.org
Deb Palazzolo, Student Billing, (860) 408-4242, dpalazzolo@ethelwalker.org

Athletics
John Monagan, Athletic Director, (860) 408-4290, jmonagan@ethelwalker.org
Mimi Duran, Assistant Athletic Director, (860) 408-4294, mduran@ethelwalker.org

Equestrian
Shachine Belle, Head Trainer, (860) 408-4355, sbelle@ethelwalker.org
Randi Booth, Assistant Director of Riding/Riding Instructor, (860) 408-4360, rbooth@ethelwalker.org

Advancement
Gretchen Orschiedt, Director of Advancement, (860) 408-4260, gorschiedt@ethelwalker.org

Contact Us


Phone: (860) 408-4467
Fax: (860) 408-4329
www.ethelwalker.org

Quick Links


The Ethel Walker School
230 Bushy Hill Road
Simsbury, CT 06070

(860) 408-4467
www.ethelwalker.org