Walker's Weekly

August 25, 2017

Who's excited for the start of school? Be sure to visit the back to school checklists in our website portals!

Senior Attends Competitive Young Writers' Conference
Hooray Sunray to Isabel Lardner '18, who attended the competitive New England Young Writers’ Conference (NEYWC) at Middlebury College's Bread Loaf campus earlier this year. Isabel was nominated by English teacher Tom Deeds and funded by Walker's Michael Leonard Fund. Isabel had the opportunity to participate in workshops led by published authors and meet with the best writing students from across the United States. 

The NEYWC at Bread Loaf is a "four day writing-focused workshop for high school students in New England and from around the country. The long weekend is packed with writing seminars, workshops, readings, and opportunities to meet fellow young writers (sites.middlebury.edu/neywc)."

Back to School To-Do Items
Students and families: As the summer winds down, please refer to our Back to School Information webpage for any outstanding back to school to-do items, the schedule for Opening Days, and other relevant information for the upcoming year. Questions? Please refer to the contact list on the 'Contact Us' tab on the Back to School page or at the bottom of this email. We can't wait to welcome you to campus!

Visit Back to School Webpage

Boarders: Let Us Know Your Travel Plans
Boarding students: Once you have secured your travel arrangements, please fill out the Boarding Student Arrival Information form for New Students and Returning Students. For recommended airports and other transportation details, visit our Traveling to Campus: Fall 2017 page.

New Families: Check Your Email for
Preseason Information

For students attending preseason, registration is from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. on Saturday, September 2. New families: please check your email for a message from Athletic Director John Monagan with the preseason schedule as well as answers to some commonly asked questions about these opening days. Returning parents and students: if you have questions regarding preseason, please direct them to John Monagan at jmonagan@ethelwalker.org or 860-408-4290.

Soccer Players Travel to Maine for Team Prep Soccer Camp
Last week, 12 Walker's soccer players, along with varsity soccer coach Todd D'Alessandro, traveled together to Camp Cedar in Casco, Maine, to attend Team Prep Soccer Camp. Team Prep is designed to prepare girls' preparatory school soccer teams for the upcoming season of play. The structure of Team Prep focuses on team building and leadership, as well as soccer skills. 

Read More

2017-2018 Bus Transportation:
There's Still Time to Sign Up!

Beginning on Monday, September 11, a daily bus
transportation service will be available for up to 14 students. The fee for the service is $800 per child per semester (billed at the beginning of each semester, once in September and once in January) or approximately $10 per day. Additional details on the program can be found here. Information about adjusted daily schedules will be posted as notices in Friday's Walker's Weeklyand on the parent portal bus transportation page. Please direct any specific questions to the admissions office at (860) 408-4200.

Read More

Save These Dates!*Your word of mouth recommendations are one of our most powerful sources of referrals for future Walker's girls. Please help us spread the word!

Walker's in the News

Contact Us
If you have any questions or concerns, we are here to assist you:

Dean of Students Office
Lauren Raia Mooney, Dean of Students, (860) 408-4239, lmooney@ethelwalker.org
Nishette Isaac, Assistant Dean of Students, (860) 408-4324, nisaac@ethelwalker.org
Mallory Pasquariello, Administrative Assistant, (860) 408-4237, mpasquariello@ethelwalker.org

Academic Administration
Jill Harrington, Dean of Academics, (860) 408-4235, jharrington@ethelwalker.org

Technology
Robert Dawson, IT Helpdesk Support, HelpDesk@ethelwalker.org

Health/Learning Services
Joyce McIntyre, School Nurse, (860) 408-4289, jmcintyre@ethelwalker.org
Joan Skelley, School Counselor, (860) 408-4284, jskelley@ethelwalker.org
Mary Beth Conley, Academic Support Coordinator, (860) 408-4283, mconley@ethelwalker.org

Business Office
Greg Jandreau, CFO, (860) 408-4241, gjandreau@ethelwalker.org
Deb Palazzolo, Student Billing, (860) 408-4242, dpalazzolo@ethelwalker.org

Athletics
John Monagan, Athletic Director, (860) 408-4290, jmonagan@ethelwalker.org
Mimi Duran, Assistant Athletic Director, (860) 408-4294, mduran@ethelwalker.org

Equestrian
Shachine Belle, Head Trainer, (860) 408-4355, sbelle@ethelwalker.org
Randi Booth, Assistant Director of Riding/Riding Instructor, (860) 408-4360, rbooth@ethelwalker.org

Advancement
Gretchen Orschiedt, Director of Advancement, (860) 408-4260, gorschiedt@ethelwalker.org

Contact Us


Phone: (860) 408-4467
Fax: (860) 408-4329
www.ethelwalker.org

Quick Links


The Ethel Walker School
230 Bushy Hill Road
Simsbury, CT 06070

(860) 408-4467
www.ethelwalker.org