Walker's Weekly

September 15, 2017

Walker's sixth grade science class suited up in beekeeping gear and trekked to the campus apiary on Monday, accompanied by professional beekeeper Gilman Mucaj P'21, who spoke to the girls about bee safety, behavior, and the techniques of beekeeping.

Horizons at The Ethel Walker School
"Big Sisters" Share Their Moments of Impact

During assembly on Wednesday, September 13, Horizons at The Ethel Walker School volunteers, or "big sisters", Caroline Smith '19, Caroline Strapp '18, Maisie Smith '19, Maddie Ross '18, and Ellery Finn '18 shared heartfelt stories from their summer working with students from Horizons at The Ethel Walker School, a six-week summer program for Hartford public school girls beginning in kindergarten through their eighth grade year. The big sisters shared moments they felt their presence made an impact, or moments in which the Horizons students impacted them. The Walker's community was moved by their reflections about the power of making connections and making a difference in the lives of others.

Watch Online*

*Check your email for instructions on how to access our video streaming service, Game On Stream

Maddie Ross '18 Selected as Finalist for 
Aurora Young Philanthropist of the Year Award

Walker's senior and Horizons at The Ethel Walker School volunteer Maddie Ross '18 has been selected as a finalist for the Aurora Women and Girls Foundation Young Philanthropist Award. She will be recognized as an emerging young philanthropist at the Aurora Women and Girls Annual Signature Breakfast this October. Maddie, who has worked for the program for the past three years, was nominated by Horizons Executive Director and Walker's Spanish teacher Isabel Ceballos. Hooray Sunray, Maddie!

Vie for the Kids Returns to Walker's October 1
Be a Cure Crusader! The 6K Vie for the Kids event returns to Walker's on Sunday, October 1 to help raise funds to support cancer trials, treatment and research for kids at Connecticut Children's Medical Center. Last year, Walker's own Mary McNally '17 placed first in the women's division. This year, join our cross country team in the race while supporting a great cause. For more details and to register, please click the button below.

Register

RSVP for Family Weekend
Family Weekend will be held Friday, October 20 and Saturday, October 21, 2017. Please come and attend classes with your daughter, meet her teachers, cheer for our athletic teams and enjoy a Parents Association reception. For more information including the schedule and RSVP link, visit www.ethelwalker.org/familyweekend.

Please watch your email for a separate invitation to The Ethel Walker School Parents Association (EWSPA) reception on Friday afternoon.

Learn More and RSVP

EWSPA Book Club November 1
Mark your calendars for the next Ethel Walker School Parents Association (EWSPA) Book Club on Thursday, November 2 at 6:30 p.m.  in the Living Room. We will discuss Bad Feminist by Roxane Gayn. Hope to see you there!

College Visits - Week of September 18, 2017
Monday, September 18

  • Stonehill College, 8:30 a.m.
  • Smith College, 10:20 a.m.
  • Becker College, 11:15 a.m.
  • Providence College, 11:15 a.m.
Tuesday, September 19
  • Dartmouth College, 8:00 a.m.
  • Glion Institute of Higher Education, 10:15 a.m.
  • Fordham University, 10:50 a.m.
  • University of Rochester, 1:50 p.m.
Thursday, September 21
  • Lasell College, 12:45 p.m.
  • University of Massachusetts, Amherst, 1:45 p.m.
  • Bryant University, 1:45 p.m.
Friday, September 22
  • SUNY College at Geneseo, 10:25 a.m.

Important Upcoming Dates

  • Thursday, September 21: D.E.A.R. Milk Lunch Special Schedule - Classes Start at 9:00 a.m.
  • Reading hour: 2:35 p.m. - 3:25 p.m.
  • Sunday, September 24: Senior Sundaes (Debby's House), 6:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, September 27: Club Fair, 6:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m.
  • Thursday, September 28: Middle School Back to School Night (Middle School),
    5:30 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, September 30: IEA Horse Show at Walker's, 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
  • Sunday, October 1Vie for the Kids Run
  • Saturday, October 14: 100 Years in Simsbury Celebration, 10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, October 14: Play 4 the Cure - Proceeds to benefit breast cancer research
  • Saturday, October 14: IEA Horse Show at Walker's, 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
  • October 20-21: Family Weekend

Weekend Activities

Friday, September 15: Required Event, 6:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.
Saturday, September 16: Simsbury Grange Fair, 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. (volunteers depart at 8:30 a.m.)
Saturday, September 16: Danbury Bounce, 7:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Sunday, September 17: Trip to the Big E, 11:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Sunday, September 17: Area Drive, 12:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
Sunday, September 17: Open Library, 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sunday, September 17: Trip to A Dong Supermarket, 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Contact Us
If you have any questions or concerns, we are here to assist you:

Dean of Students Office
Lauren Raia Mooney, Dean of Students, (860) 408-4239, lmooney@ethelwalker.org
Nishette Isaac, Assistant Dean of Students, (860) 408-4324, nisaac@ethelwalker.org
Mallory Pasquariello, Administrative Assistant, (860) 408-4237, mpasquariello@ethelwalker.org

Academic Administration
Jill Harrington, Dean of Academics, (860) 408-4235, jharrington@ethelwalker.org

Technology
Robert Dawson, IT Helpdesk Support, HelpDesk@ethelwalker.org

Health/Learning Services
Joyce McIntyre, School Nurse, (860) 408-4289, jmcintyre@ethelwalker.org
Joan Skelley, School Counselor, (860) 408-4284, jskelley@ethelwalker.org
Mary Beth Conley, Academic Support Coordinator, (860) 408-4283, mconley@ethelwalker.org

Business Office
Greg Jandreau, CFO, (860) 408-4241, gjandreau@ethelwalker.org
Deb Palazzolo, Student Billing, (860) 408-4242, dpalazzolo@ethelwalker.org

Athletics
John Monagan, Athletic Director, (860) 408-4290, jmonagan@ethelwalker.org
Mimi Duran, Assistant Athletic Director, (860) 408-4294, mduran@ethelwalker.org

Equestrian
Shachine Belle, Head Trainer, (860) 408-4355, sbelle@ethelwalker.org
Randi Booth, Assistant Director of Riding/Riding Instructor, (860) 408-4360, rbooth@ethelwalker.org

Advancement
Gretchen Orschiedt, Director of Advancement, (860) 408-4260, gorschiedt@ethelwalker.org

Contact Us


Phone: (860) 408-4467
Fax: (860) 408-4329
www.ethelwalker.org

Quick Links


The Ethel Walker School
230 Bushy Hill Road
Simsbury, CT 06070

(860) 408-4467
www.ethelwalker.org