Grandparent News | Summer 2019
Read about our students, faculty, and alumni...

Thank you, grandparents!

On May 3, we had the pleasure of hosting over 300 grandparents and friends at Waynflete. We welcome and value grandparents as full participants in our school community and know what a special role you all play in our students’ lives. Save the date for next year's Grandparents Day—May 8, 2020!

View Grandparents/Friends Day photos

Recent events

Baccalaureate and Commencement

Congratulations to the Class of 2019! 76 seniors received diplomas at Waynflete's 121st commencement held on June 8 at Merrill Auditorium.

Read the Wire post
View 2019 Baccalaureate photos
View 2019 Commencement photos

Waynflete is also proud to announce Upper School students named to the Cum Laude Society:

Seniors: Hannah Babcock | Arianna Coan-Prichard | Lily Fanburg | Quilla Flanagan-Burt | Annabel Huber | Charlotte Joseph | Ben Lualdi | Alex Saade | Sophie Sangster
Juniors: Abigail Aleshire | Sophi Aronson | Thys Geldenhuys | Ian McClure-Chute

First Annual Alumni Leadership Award

On May 23, Patricia (Pat) Davis Klingenstein, Class of 1947, was named the first recipient of the school’s Alumni Leadership Award in recognition of her work as an education advocate, devoted community leader, volunteer, and philanthropist. The award, which will henceforth be known as “The Klingenstein Award,” was conceived by Waynflete’s Board of Trustees as a way to celebrate alumni who live as responsible and caring participants in our world (key tenets of the school’s mission). Pat was celebrated at a student assembly and an alumni luncheon.
Read more

Pictured above: Pat Klingenstein (center) with family members.

Gifts to the Waynflete Fund support our mission and touch every student, teacher, and corner of our campus. Your gift, no matter the size, makes a difference. Our fiscal year ends on June 30 and we have just $35,000 left to raise toward our $700,000 goal!

Please consider a gift today. You can make a difference!

Support Waynflete with a gift today

To the many grandparents who have donated to this year's Waynflete Fund—thank you!

Faculty News

With gratitude and appreciation, we recently bid farewell to four longtime faculty members. Read below for a selection of their "faculty minutes," which were read aloud at our final faculty meeting of the year.

Linda Gilman (24 years)
Grades 4-5
“Long before social-emotional learning and mindfulness were educational buzzwords, Linda was weaving these ideas into her classroom. The culture in her class meant that quiet and thoughtful moments of reflection were the norm—that it was essential to take time to help kids solve problems, and that the power of kind respectful words are paramount to learning, growing, and being human.”

Ray Morrow (33 years)
6-12 Performing Arts- Jazz Band
Named honorary alumnus in 2005
“Throughout his thirty-three year run at Waynflete, Ray has inspired countless musicians to appreciate the beauty, rhythms, and feel of jazz music. I am inspired by his patient and firm teaching style. He was respected by his students and he led them to respect each other—to keep their instruments in top condition, practice endlessly, and appreciate the rewards of being their best and being great at what they do.”

Sue Stein (21 years)
EAL Coordinator
“Sue Stein has carried out her mission to support EAL students at Waynflete for 21 years with passion, commitment, and an exceptional ability to welcome, cheerlead, advocate for, include, and collaborate with our entire extended community of students, staff, faculty, and families. Her quest to support every aspect of success and access to the wonders of a Waynflete education for every one of her students is a direct function of her huge heart and stunningly unending care.”

Phuc Tran (16 years)
6-12 World Language
“As a teacher, Phuc has embodied the balance of rigorous expectation with playful exploration as articulated in the school mission. His adeptness at this balance makes him respected by students and colleagues alike. "

Alumni News

Josh Broder ’97, Tilson Technology Management CEO, set out to become a military intelligence agent and ended up running Maine's fastest-growing technology company. Story here

Ryan Blotnick 00 is a jazz musician and composer based in Southwest Harbor, Maine. Ryan wrote the score for the film “Knock Down the House,” a documentary following four women running for Congress in 2018, which won the festival Audience Award and was acquired by Netflix. Read the article

Maddie Corson 55, fourth generation of her family business, Guy Gannett Communications, received the Institute for Family-Owned Businesses' first Lifetime Achievement Award on June 5. Read the article

Alison End Fineberg ’99 recently moved to Geneva, Switzerland with her family for a new job. She has been named the Director of a new global partnership, ATscale, focused on increasing access to assistive technologies (i.e. wheelchairs, eyeglasses, hearing aids, prosthetics, etc.), particularly in low- and middle-income countries.

Laura Siegle 02 recently received a Fullbright Award. From the press release: “The U.S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board announced that Laura Siegle of Lower Manhattan Community Middle School in New York, NY, has been offered a Fulbright Distinguished Award in Teaching Semester Research Program grant. Recipients of Fulbright grants are selected on the basis of academic and professional achievement, as well as demonstrated leadership potential.”

Campus News

Where is the Class of 2019 going to college?
Click here to view the 2019 college matriculation list.

At the school’s 121st commencement, Board President Christopher Smith presented the Drake Award to William A. Torrey III. Read Christopher Smith's remarks.

It was a sensational spring for Flyers teams! Waynflete teams gave fans good reason to cheer. Read the Spring Sports Recap.

Congratulations to this year’s Upper School student award winners.

Important Links

Publications Archives
The Wire (all-school blog)

360 Spring Street
Portland, ME 04102